10,000 Kettlebell Swings

Slight confession . . . I had no part in the conception of this one, but it is a doozy, and worthy of your consideration. Also, as a warning, this is not a beginner’s workout. Not to say that it can’t be done, but we at CraseFit believe that good form is the foundation of effective movement, so make sure you can do a proper kettlebell swing with solid form before beginning to attempt this.

Now that I’ve fumbled at an attempt at a disclaimer, here’s the workout:

10,000 Kettlebell Swings to be completed in 4 weeks . . . begin.

Kidding. Sorta, but not really. The goal is 10,000 kettlebell swings in four weeks, but we’re a little more structured than all that.

Dan John actually proposed this challenge and you can read all the gory details at T-Nation, the 10,000 Swing Kettlebell Workout. If you’re anxious to get started, then here’s the basic breakdown:

5 Sets of:

  • 10 kb swings

  • 1 rep lift*

  • 15 kb swings

  • 2 rep lift*

  • 25 kb swings

  • 3 rep lift*

  • 50 kb swings

  • catch your breath

The in-between lifts are completely optional, as they clearly do not contribute to our desired total of 10,000 kettlebell swings.

The recommendation is that this is a 2-1 program, as in 2 days on, 1 day off. Each set equals 100 kettlebell swings, and five sets brings us to 500 kettlebell swings per day. Xs 20 days = 10,000 kettlebell swings.

Dan John has his recommendation as to what the lifts could consist of, and I have mine. Each day, select from one of the following, and add to your challenge for increased strength gains, major, major major fat loss, and an elated sense of well-being.

  • Day 1- Power Cleans

  • Day 2- Military Press

  • Day 3- Front Squat

  • Day 4- Bench Press

  • Day 5- Dead Lift

The choice is ultimately yours. If you choose to do additional lifts during rep breaks, anything will probably work. These five were chosen to represent and encourage further total body development.

In addition to the above disclaimer, I’d also like to add that if you fall ill, injure yourself, or do anything to prevent you from the time frame set forth in this beast of a workout, make sure you take care of yourself, then the workout. Don’t try to hero through an injury or illness. Those 10,000 swings will wait for you until you get back. Stacking this many swings on an injury is a certain path to debilitation. But, for the strong hearted and able bodied, this workout is an actualization with nearly unlimited new potentials.

10 comments

  1. Dan John was talking about the at the intervention workshop I went to, Then He did it on our lunch break, man did he looked smoked! This is a test your manhood workout for sure!

    1. Oh wow, you went to that? That’s really cool. On my list, but haven’t made one yet.
      So yeah, today was my second day, and I’m not exactly rX since I only have the one pood kettlebell, but doing it unbroken is freakin’ awesome, and to celebrate completion on 10/27, I’m treating myself to the 24kg . . . and will probably repeat the drill.

      1. Yeah, I was wiped after Day 2, but still feeling pretty good.
        Then that 1st rest day popped up (yesterday), and I have a feeling Day 3 (today) is gonna do more than just wipe me.

  2. I did my first two days of this using a 32kg bell. I couldn’t finish it without the prolonged resting periods @_@ It takes me about an hour or so to do 500 reps. My lifts were only using my 32kg KB for a goblet squat so I kind of made the whole transition from swing to squat as a complex.

    But you’re right, I was literally smoking from the heat. I can’t imagine repeating this until after a few months haha

    1. Yeah, my body heat after one of these sessions feels like something Dante should’ve written about . . . smoked is such an appropriate term, but I can’t wait to see the results of a month of this looks like.

  3. Having just completed the 10000 (in about 5 weeks) and with just a kettlebell to work with for other exercises, I can say it was definitely a commitment. I liked the up-side, but am ready for something other than swings for a bit…

Leave a Reply

