2013 Peachtree Regristration

Do you get excited easily like I do? Here’s an example: I’m clicking through e-mails, moderately amused with the time some people have, and through the window comes the piercing light of the sun (hyperbole or metaphor, folks, they keep me locked up in a windowless hamster wheel, ya know), an e-mail from the AJC Peachtree Road Race.

2012 Peachtree(Last year’s winning design.)

Included in this e-mail are links, such as this one and this one. The first one has a nifty countdown timer, reminding me that Atlanta’s most beloved 10K begins in 159 days. (Maybe less if you’re late to read this post.) And the second one is a link to join the ATC and ensure that my registration gets accepted. Convenient, I suppose.

If you’re new to this whole Peachtree Road Race craze, let me tell ya, the registration period is tough on the psyche, or wherever our sense of self esteem lives. Beginning on March 15, 2013, and ending on March 22, 2013, you can submit your online registration for the 2013 Peachtree Road Race. Meanwhile, you wait. And wait. And wait. During this time you lose sleep, and have the most horrendous waking thoughts that no matter what you’ve done before, your registration will not get accepted. That you’ll have to spend the afternoon of July 4th watching all the other kids who did get in flaunt around town in their cool new PRR t-shirts. A unique BTDT trophy indeed!

The second link, the one to the Atlanta Track Club offers the opportunity of early and guaranteed entry into the 2013 Running of the Crazies. Don’t let me make this sound like a bad thing. It is a very exciting race to run, whether this will be your first year, thirtieth, or somewhere in between. Yeah, $35 gets you a membership to the Atlanta Track Club, and the best perk in the park is early and guaranteed entry. I’ve sweated, lost sleep, and beat myself up over this in years past, this lottery system where you submit your entry, then hope like crazy that you randomly get selected. Ugh, no thanks in 2013. You still have to pay the entry fee to the race, but an extra $35 is worth avoiding the migraines and other health conditions caused by stress of waiting and wondering.

On second thought, why am I telling you all this?!? I must be outta my mind, sharing these how to get into the best 10K in the country. What happens when 55,000, 60,000, 65,000 of you join and the field is closed before registration even begins? The Peachtree Road Race reaches capacity every year, as far as I know. It’s kind of hard to tell if everyone showed up while running the 6.2 mile of smooth pavement between Lenox mall and Piedmont Park, while bands play, people cheer, and any assortment of beverages is heaped upon you in abundance.

Honestly, I only have two motivations for sharing this:

  1. To let you know that I will be there, again, and loving every last step & sweat of July in Georgia
  2. To encourage you to come back or try it for the first time

Because, yes, I could go out and run that same stretch 364 times each year, and I promise that it would never be as much fun as it is when you, you, you, and you are out there with umpteen thousand of your closest friends. Try it, I’m pretty sure you’ll love it. Hope to see you out there!

As always, be fit, live strong. CraseFit.

Leave a Reply

