2012 Peachtree Road Race

Just before midnight, I received an e-mail from Marathonguide.com stating that my credit card had been charged the amount of entry into the 2012 Peachtree Road Race. Sleep? Who could sleep? I am in!

Somehow I slept, and I only know this because I woke up with the urgency to recheck my e-mail for the official one I hoped would follow, the one from the AJC Peachtree Road Race, the one that begins: Dear Lee, Congratulations! Your entry was selected for the 2012 AJC Peachtree Road Race on July 4, 2012.

It’s bigger than getting into college, and so much less expensive.

Four years worth of parties crammed into a 6.2 mile course might be a bit of a stretch, but damn, they sure try! And so do I. Wait, what was I talking about?

This will be my fourth running of the Peachtree, third consecutive. My first two times were approximately the same, but then from 2010 to 2011 I shaved off 5 minutes, so I need to make the same increase to get my time where I want it. (Details aren’t important here, it’s called Personal Record for a reason.) Running Season began on March 15th, (the day the Peachtree Lottery opens) and hits its climax on July 4th, then slowly tapers off until Autumn when I resume a focus on weight training.

With a hair over 3 months to get my body race ready, the trick is to eat clean while I continue to push and train. Seventeen pounds of unsightly pudge will get me down to the weight I’d feel optimal, already down three from March 15th.

Honestly, the Peachtree tries hard enough to cram four years of parties into 6.2 miles that I’d be willing to crawl the route if it came down to that’s all I had to get me from Lenox Mall to Piedmont Park.

Congratulations to my 60,000 BFFs who will be at the running of the 2012 Peachtree Road Race!

Leave a Reply

